The Next Chapter…

November 17, 2011 at 8:42 pm (permaculture, yoga)

It’s been two years since I’ve posted to Rain Rain Go Away.  A lot has happened in that time.

I completed the yoga teacher training that I last posted about.  We did a kind of “Life in Balance” stream-of-consciousness writing exercise, in which we were asked to envision ourselves one, three, and five years down the road–what kinds of things would we hope to accomplish in that time?  What roles–professional, social, familial, etc.–could we picture ourselves in?  Three things that came to mind that day have now come to fruition:

1. To have another baby.

Baby Henry was born two minutes to midnight on his due date, June 28 of this year.  He weighed in at a whopping 10 lbs, 9 oz! but still his birth was a gentle and drug-free VBAC.  He is an absolute joy to have around!

2. To be a role model for youth, particularly girls.

For almost two years I have been volunteering as a Farm Friend with UBC Farm’s Landed Learning Project leading school children through the process of creating a garden–from planning what to grow to seed-starting, transplanting, and finally harvesting, cooking, and eating what they’ve grown.  Working with the kids from Tyee has been amazingly rewarding and I have learned a lot in the process.  I promise to write an extensive post about this program at some point in the future.

3. To complete a Permaculture Design Certificate (PDC) course.

I received my PDC last fall from James Richardson of the UBC School of Landscape Architecture.  For the uninitiated, permaculture (think permanent agriculture) is a term coined way back in the 1970’s by Bill Mollison and David Holmgren to describe their principles of sustainable habitat design.  I am now involved in a two-year advanced permaculture diploma course, a kind of practicum that puts into action the design principles taught in the more theoretical PDC course.  I’ll be posting about permaculture a lot more in the future, since it is the subject of my Next Chapter.

2 Comments

  1. dreamstreamr said,

    I’ve enjoyed reading this and your posts through early December (I read them like I read magazines, progressing from the back). Great clean writing, I think you’re expressions are more direct and clear than two years ago.

    Looking into the future was particularly difficult for me. Your wish lists and successes are enviable — good job plotting and doing!

    Jim

    • kelseywood said,

      thank you so much! can’t wait to see you guys!

Leave a Reply

