An Eleanor Update

October 30, 2007 at 9:34 pm (Eleanor, parenting)

My little smartie pants can now strings words together to communicate a whole idea or to tell me a story.  The other day at the tot gym Eleanor got upset because some older kids (we’re talking three-year-olds here) wouldn’t let her play in the block house they had built.   I was watching this from the bench on the other side of the gymnasium, so I had some reference for when she came over to me and said, crying, “Mommy… Allie… set… ment… chirdet… hows.”  Translation: “Mommy, I’m sad and I’m mad at those children that won’t let me play in the house.”  Good girl!

Well, we didn’t have to wait long before the big kids were done playing with the blocks and I started to build a new block house just for Eleanor.  Unfortunately, it also wasn’t long before some other children wanted to play in our house and, though they kind of took over, I couldn’t very well send them away or condone Eleanor pushing them away.  I didn’t want to show Eleanor that what the bigger kids had done to her earlier was the right thing to do.  And, of course, I didn’t want to make the little kids “set” and “ment!”

Leave a Reply

